clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mark Helfrich Updates the Depth Chart: Lockie is QB2, Maldonado is P1

Plus, the initial freshman PT announcements.

Doug Pensinger

Via Will Rubin, here are the major depth chart updates from Coach Helfrich. My thoughts:

  • Jeff Lockie will open the season as the #2 quarterback, though I expect this spot is not set in stone, with Jake Rodrigues still challenging Lockie. Rodrigues entered Oregon as the more athletic, higher upside player, but it's not as though Lockie is some scrub. All this means is that Lockie is more prepared to handle the offense right now, be it through knowing the playbook or just throwing a better ball through fall camp.
  • Alejandro Maldonado has beaten out Dylan Ausherman for the starting punter job, a "lesser of two evils" choice, as it sounds like neither player showed much consistency thus far. Maldonado has the better accuracy, and Oregon doesn't plan on needing a big boot early in the year. Smart pick. Maldonado and Matt Wogan will continue to vie for the placekicker position, and it wouldn't surprise me if Oregon's kicker changed from week-to-week, depending on who's kicking better in practice.
  • Along with Wogan, RB Thomas Tyner, LB Tyrell Robinson, TE Johnny Mundt, and LB Torrodney Prevot will play as true freshman. Mundt was the surprise of fall camp, stepping up to win playing time after Pharaoh Brown was injured. He will, along with Koa Ka'ai, back up starting TE Colt Lyerla.
  • Still to be announced: the starters at inside linebacker. Though, they'll all see a lot of playing time, so it really doesn't matter too much who starts.
So here is, to the best of my ability, the current Oregon two-deep:

QB: Marcus Mariota, Jeff Lockie

WR: Keanon Lowe, Chance Allen

WR: Daryle Hawkins, BJ Kelley

TE: Colt Lyerla, Koa Ka'ai OR Johnny Mundt

C: Hronnis Grasu, Karrington Armstrong

T: Jake Fisher, Andre Yruretagoyana

NT: Wade Keliikipi, Ricky Havili-Heimuli

DE: DeForest Buckner OR Arik Armstead

Drop End: Tony Washington, Christian French

Mike LB: Joe Walker OR Rodney Hardrick

Will LB: Rahim Cassell OR Derrick Malone

CB: Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Troy Hill

CB: Terrance Mitchell, Dior Mathis

Rover: Brian Jackson, Isaac Dixon

P: Alejandro Maldonado, Dylan Ausherman

K: Matt Wogan OR Alejandro Maldonado