clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Marcus Mariota becomes first Duck in school history to win Walter Camp Award

To no surprise, Marcus Mariota takes home the award given to college football's player of the year.

Scott Olmos-USA TODAY Sports

UPDATE: In addition to the Walter Camp, Mariota took home the Davey O'Brian (top quarterback) and the Maxwell (college POY) awards.

In a warm-up for the big show on Saturday night, Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota took home the Walter Camp Award, presented annually to college football's player of the year. The award is voted on by 125 FBS coaches and sports information directors.

Mariota became the first player in school history to win the award, and the eighth player in conference history to win. A familiar Pac-12 opponent, Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright III, was also a finalist for the award. The two Pac-12 stars were also joined by TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin, Alabama wide receiver Amari Cooper and Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon. Both Cooper and Gordon are also Heisman finalists along with Mariota.

This season, Mariota completed 254 passes for 3,783 yards and 38 touchdown passes with only two interceptions. He also ran for 669 yards with 14 rushing touchdowns.

Winning the award for college football's player of the year doesn't lock in the Heisman as much as it initially seems like it should. In the past 10 years, only five times has the Walter Camp Award winner gone on to win the Heisman. This year looks to be different however, as Mariota has proven to be in a league of his own.

While the award is a great honor for Mariota, the one that really counts should come Saturday night.