clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Webfoot Awards: Men’s golf wins Best Team

2016 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship - Final Round Photo by Steve Dykes/Getty Images

The votes are in, and the Oregon men’s golf team has been voted as the Best Team of 2015-16 in our second annual Webfoot Awards.

At the start of the season, if you had to pick who would win this award, most would probably say football, some would say men’s basketball. Few would predict that the men’s golf team would go on a Cinderella run to the national championship.

Oregon did it the hard way in the NCAA tournament as the No. 6 seed, having to take down the top three seeds in the tournament in order to win the title, which was their first in school history.

In the championship match against Texas, Oregon held an early lead but the Longhorns stormed back to force a sudden death playoff between Sulman Raza of Texas and Taylor Funk of Texas. Eventually, it was Raza who sunk the winning putt to bring home the championship for the Ducks. What made the moment even sweeter was that Raza was a hometown kid, attending high school just on the other side of the river at South Eugene High School.

Aaron Wise also won the NCAA individual title, marking the first time the host school took home the individual and team title since Ohio State did so back in 1945.

It’ll be fun to see how much magic Oregon has left for next season as they defend their title.

Here is how the voting broke down for Best Team: