clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dillon Brooks makes 2017 Naismith Trophy Top 30 list

The trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s top player.

NCAA Basketball: Arizona at Oregon Scott Olmos-USA TODAY Sports

Today, the Atlanta Tipoff Club unveiled the 30 men’s college basketball players who remain in consideration for the Naismith Trophy, awarded annually to the nation's top player. It is college basketball’s equivalent to the Heisman Trophy.

Oregon’s Dillon Brooks is on the list for the second year in a row. This year, Brooks leads the Ducks in scoring, averaging 14.4 points per game along with 3.0 rebounds and 3.2 assists per game.

Back in December, Brooks delivered the biggest shot of the year thus far for Oregon, sinking a game-winning 3-pointer against No. 2 UCLA as time expired. Thanks to his efforts, the Ducks are now ranked No. 5 in the nation.

Brooks is one of five Pac-12 players on the list. The ACC leads the nation with 10 players on the list.

The 10 semifinalists for the award will be announced on March 1.

Here are the 30 men’s players in consideration for the Naismith Trophy:

2017 Naismith Trophy Men’s Top 30 List

Dwayne Bacon Sophomore G Florida State ACC
Lonzo Ball Freshman G UCLA Pac 12
Joel Berry II Junior G North Carolina ACC
Dillon Brooks Junior F Oregon Pac 12
Jalen Brunson Sophomore G Villanova Big East
Bonzie Colson Junior F Notre Dame ACC
Jawun Evans Sophomore PG Oklahoma State Big 12
Marcus Foster Junior G Creighton Big East
De'Aaron Fox Freshman G Kentucky SEC
Markelle Fultz Freshman G Washington Pac 12
Ethan Happ R-Sophomore F Wisconsin Big Ten
Josh Hart Senior G Villanova Big East
Josh Jackson Freshman G Kansas Big 12
Justin Jackson Junior F/G North Carolina ACC
Marcus Keene Junior G Central Michigan MAC
Luke Kennard Sophomore G Duke ACC
Jock Landale Junior C St. Mary's West Coast
TJ Leaf Freshman F UCLA Pac 12
Lauri Markkanen Freshman F Arizona Pac 12
Frank Mason III Senior G Kansas Big 12
Donovan Mitchell Sophomore G Louisville ACC
Malik Monk Freshman G Kentucky SEC
Monte Morris Senior G Iowa State Big 12
Jonathan Motley Junior F Baylor Big 12
Alec Peters Senior F Valparaiso Horizon League
Dennis Smith Jr. Freshman G NC State ACC
Caleb Swanigan Sophomore F Purdue Big Ten
Sindarius Thornwell Senior G South Carolina SEC
Melo Trimble Junior G Maryland Big Ten
Nigel Williams-Goss R-Junior G Gonzaga West Coast