clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NCAA Track & Field Championships: Women of Oregon Win Triple Crown

Say hello to the 2016-17 National Champions

Track and Field: NCAA Championships Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

EUGENE, Oregon — The Women of Oregon have won the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field National Championship. Incredibly, Oregon is the first women’s D-1 team in history to win the Triple Crown. The Ducks were in a class of their own on Saturday from the legendary Hayward Field.

The incredible has happened! After 20 of 21 events were complete, the Oregon women’s team trailed Georgia by a matter of points. The Bulldogs were leading the Ducks with 62.2 points, following a later surge. Yet, UO had 54 points and history in their sights.

In the final event of the day, none other than the 4x400m relay awaited the ladies. Oregon fans knew this was THE EVENT they had been waiting for. With Raevyn Rogers and company, anything is possible in the sport.

After Rogers took the baton, she fought her way to the finish line. USC’s Kendra Williams was fantastic down the stretch, battling Rogers every step of the way until the final strides.

A combination of Rogers, Deajah Stevens, Elexis Guster and Mackenzie Dunmore enabled Oregon this wonderful opportunity with their clutch victory.

As Rogers crossed the finish line in first place for the second time on Saturday (won the 800m for third straight year), Oregon claimed the NCAA Track & Field National Championship, unimaginably their third straight.

Following the race, a protest was issued by the Georgia Bulldogs. Understandably, UGA was simply looking for any loopholes in the scoring since they finished in second place overall by less than two full points (1.8).

So many talented members of Oregon’s women track and field team deserve credit for this unprecedented feat.

Katie Rainsberger once again began the women on the right foot. Her fourth place finish in the 1,500m started the momentous day from Hayward.

Next, Alaysha Johnson and Sasha Wallace finished their journey with the 100m hurdles. Johnson grabbed a few points for the team with her fourth place finish (12.72). Wallace tallied three points for Oregon after she placed sixth.

Following that was Deajah Stevens and Ariana Washington in the 100m, their first of two races on Saturday. Stevens flew into second place (11.04) and secured eight crucial points for Oregon. The defending champion in the 100m and 200m, Washington placed in fourth (11.09) with four team points. A total of 13 were earned by the two in their 100m race.

After that, Rogers took the 800m by storm yet again (2:00.02). With the first place finish, Rogers claimed her third straight national championship and fifth straight (including indoor) in the 800m. She is not human.

Teammate Brooke Feldmeier placed third with an incredible finish (2:01.54) for a total of 16 points from the two for UO in the 800m race.

Then, Guster concluded in sixth place of the 400m with a time of 52.25. The senior transfer had a great season and made it even better with her final event in the 4x400m relay to follow.

Stevens and Washington took to the 200m event following their 100m finales. At one point, Stevens was leading but unfortunately fell and did not finish the race. It could have been costly if Oregon did not win by 1.8 points in the end.

The defending champ picked up her teammates slack, finishing in second place (22.39). Washington grabbed eight points for Oregon, setting the table for a legendary ending to the season.

After the 4x400m relay ended, Oregon had gained the points they needed for the historic victory. Oregon departed with 64 total points, a first place finish and the first-ever women’s track and field Triple Crown.

Georgia registered 62.5 points for a respectable second place.

This is one of the greatest achievements in collegiate athletics. The Women of Oregon have laid the foundation for the best team in women’s track and field history. Oregon is simply in a class of their own. Go Ducks!

Stay tuned on Instagram @eugene_levys_eyebrows and Twitter @TheQuackFiend