clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oregon OT Penei Sewell Named Morris Trophy Winner

Another day, another honor for the standout left tackle

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: DEC 06 Pac-12 Championship Game Photo by Samuel Stringer/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Oregon sophomore left tackle Penei Sewell has been named as the offensive Morris Trophy winner as voted on by the Pac-12 defensive linemen.

The Morris Trophy is given annually to the best offensive and defensive linemen in the Pac-12, voted on by their peers.

The defensive version of the award was given to Utah EDGE Bradlee Anae after he produced a 2019 season that consisted of 35 tackles, 13.5 tackles for loss, and 12.5 sacks. Those sacks were good for seventh best in all of FBS. Anae is widely considered as the top EDGE in the conference.

Sewell went up against Anae multiple times in the Pac-12 conference championship game and largely shut him down. He's considered to be the top offensive tackle in the 2021 draft class.

Sewell was also honored with being named to the Pro Football Focus All-America team and the 247 Sports All-America team earlier this month. He's also an Outland Trophy finalist. There will be more honors for him, I'm sure.

Congrats Penei!