clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oregon QB Justin Herbert Wins William V. Campbell Trophy

Heisman! Academic Heisman that is.

Pac-12 Championship Game - Oregon v Utah Alika Jenner/Getty Images

Oregon QB Justin Herbert was just named the winner of the William V. Campbell Trophy minutes ago

The William V. Campbell Trophy is given to the most outstanding scholar athlete every year and it is considered to be the "Academic Heisman".

Herbert was one of 12 finalists that included Georgia K Rodrigo Blankenship and Stanford LB Casey Toohill. He had the highest GPA in the group with a 4.01 while majoring in General Science.

Herbert is the first winner from the University of Oregon in the award's history. Past winners include Peyton Manning (1997), Tim Tebow (2009), Sam Acho (2010), and last year's winner, Christian Wilkins.

From the award website, the finalists will receive $18,000 in postgraduate scholarship money while the winner receives an additional $7,000, so a total of $25,000 in scholarship money.

Congratulations, Justin!