clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Report: Oregon QB Justin Herbert will throw at the Scouting Combine

New, 1 comment

The Ducks former signal caller will throw at the Combine

NCAA Football: Senior Bowl Vasha Hunt-USA TODAY Sports

Per Ian Rapoport and Tom Pellissero of NFL.com, former Oregon QB Justin Herbert will reportedly throw at the Combine this Thursday night

Herbert has made the decision to throw even with his top ten selection likely already secured. He was named the Senior Bowl MVP last month.

This decision further solidifies the image that Herbert is a competitor deep down even if he doesn't emote well. Traditionally some quarterbacks opt out of throwing at the Combine to unfamiliar receivers and opt to throw at their Pro Days. Lately the trend has been for passers deciding to throw in Indianapolis.

Herbert will likely do all the other drills such as the 40, bench press, and vertical jump among others as well. This is yet another chance for him to show off his draft class defining arm strength with NFL caliber receivers. I would prefer it that he throw in Indy to actual future NFL receivers than at Oregon's Pro Day with only one draftable receiver. Juwan Johnson is the only eligible receiver he can throw to in Eugene as future draft eligible Ducks cannot participate in the event due to NFL and NCAA rules.

We all know that Herbert will be impressive off the field in interviews but can he show that he can adapt to new scenarios on the field? (Spoiler alert: he can as evidenced in Mobile). He's arguably the most physically impressive quarterback in the class.

Herbert's measurements:

H/W: 6'6 236 (up from 227 at the Senior Bowl)

Hand size: 10"

Arm length: 32 7/8"

Wingspan: 78 7/8"

You can see him and the other quarterbacks in the class do their on field drills on Thursday starting at 4 PM ET / 1 PM PT through 11 PM ET / 8 PM PT.