clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sabrina Ionescu Wins the John R. Wooden Award

Another day, another award for the GOAT

Stanford v Oregon Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images

The GOAT keeps on racking up the awards after being named the John R. Wooden Award winner this afternoon

This means that she has picked up every player of the year award this season.

She is one of just FIVE players in college basketball history to win the Wooden in consecutive years.

Earlier this afternoon, she was named the Nancy Lieberman Award winner given to the nation's best point guard in women's college basketball every year. She is only of TWO players ever to win the award three times, joining UCONN, WNBA, and USWNT legend Sue Bird.

The Ducks weren't done picking up awards however, as Ruthy Hebard won the McClain Award (best PF) and Satou Sabally won the Cheryl Miller Award (best SF). Oregon is the first program ever to place three winners in the same year

Congrats Sabrina!